PDA

View Full Version : jointer plane question

rick sandor
04-28-2009, 1:24 PM
Hi everybody,
I typically lurk but in this case I can't seem to find what I'm looking for.I'm looking to get a jointer plane and need some advice between bevel up vs bevel down.
I will use it to flatten boards and joint edges. I'm a hobbyist that spends a few hours a week in the shop (if I'm lucky). Because of time constraints my primary goal is to get it right the first time. I'm aware of Chris Schwarz's pro and con arguments. I realize that ultimately it will be my own hands on experience that will be the judge but but I think the collective wisdom here is a great start.
Thanks,
Rick

Michael Faurot
04-28-2009, 3:09 PM
I have a Stanley and Record No.7 and both do just fine for jointing. For flattening panels, I like a No.6, but that's just personal preference.

Either a bevel-down or a bevel-up will work. The bevel-up may give you some additional options though, especially if you're using it to flatten. With the bevel-up you'd have the option to to easily switch out different blades, each ground to a different angle.

If cost is a big cocnern, you can probably find a vintage No.7 for under $100. You're not as likely to find a used bevel-up jointer, so then you'd be looking at $350 from Lie-Nielsen or $279 from Veritas.

Jim Koepke
04-28-2009, 3:55 PM
Rick,

Welcome to the Creek, come on in the water is fine.

Your profile does not show a location. Look at the Lie-Nielsen show page:

http://www.lie-nielsen.com/?pg=1

If you live anywhere near where they are having a show, you should go and get a hands on trial of what they have to offer.

You do not mention if you already have any other planes.

My opinion of bevel up planes is limited to the block planes in my shop.