PDA

View Full Version : Houdini's Box

edward alexander
04-27-2009, 9:46 PM
The other night I was watching TV flipping through the channels and came across this magic show-they were doing that trick where the guy gets out of a locked wooden box-it's an old Houdini trick - the magician gets in a wooden box about a four ft x four ft cube,they put the top on and pad lock each side put a screen in front of the box (so you can't see)- say the magic words and the guy is out--
about 1974 I was a young woodworker living in Texas,me and my wife had drove to San Antonio about 80 mi. away , had a some cheese cake and coffee then took in a magic show--and they did that trick-after the show I went up to that box looked it up and down and just couldn't see how it was done,so I asked-I told the magician I was a woodworker and would like to know how it was done-- you know for my professional know how- -he said magic--so we drove home that night---it turn out the magic show (eight people,two vans) was from California and they were driving home doing gigs all the way back--well when they got just outside of my town that big box came off the top of the van as they were going down the highway--busted up-beyond repair -- so they get in town and start asking for a woodworker that can make that box for them---when I opened my front door to the knock I don't know who looked more surprised me are that magician--well I made the box and learned how the trick was done---sos hinges
alex .

travis howe
04-27-2009, 10:11 PM
Haha! Good story. Only would have been better if you could have rigged it not to work during the show and when they ask tell them it's a craftsman secret!:D

Phil Thien
04-27-2009, 10:19 PM
LOL. Awesome story. And why didn't I think of SOS hinges? That makes perfect sense.

Dewey Torres
04-28-2009, 1:02 AM
So Ed...
This happened in 1974 ...when I was 3 years old:rolleyes:... and you are just now posting it?:eek:

scott spencer
04-28-2009, 7:29 AM
Good story Ed!