PDA

View Full Version : I made my decision the deed is done

Michael Simpson Virgina
04-27-2009, 11:11 AM
I currently have three applications in mind but am sure as time passes I have others.
Application 1
---------------------

I run a small robotics company where I sell custom electronics for robotic and electronic projects. I also have a couple large industrial companies that use my electronics for various applications. I write articles for both “Nuts and Volts” and “Servo” magazines. I have been asked many times by several of my customers to offer kits of the various projects featured on my website.

In this application the machine will be used mostly in a prototyping environment with very light production. IE I will only cutout the parts on a order by order basis. Very low volume. As I spend more time prototyping parts I will add them to my inventory so to speak.

Application 2
--------------------
I am a avid woodworker as well as clockmaker. Cutting gears and small parts with a scroll saw is a real pain. I plan on some really cool clocks that I will sell in the many consignment shops near where I live.

Application 3
--------------------
I am also a photographer. Something I wanted to offer as the ability to engrave/mark ceramic tiles. This would be a very specialized area where I work on the photo/art work with the customer then create a large mural. (They would have them professionally installed)

This application would be a totally low production project as I only plan on doing a couple of these a year for very well off clients. (Read Rich) My minimum charge would be $4000. While application 1 and 2 are my love this one will probably pay for my laser in just a couple of years.

------------------------------
Ok I took the plunge and ordered my laser last week. I had a budget of no more than $20,000. I had done quite a bit of research and had narrowed the choices down to the following lasers.

Universal VLS 3.5 Desktop 50 Watt