PDA

View Full Version : Recommended skill progression for new turner?

David Parker
04-26-2009, 11:46 PM
Hi all,

I'm new to turning. After taking two week long courses at John C. Campbell, I decided this was addicting and bought a nice Jet 1642 EVS-2. I now have more time to devote to this hobby and was wondering if there was a recommended progression on what skills to develop and in what order? Do I master a spindle gouge first before moving on to something else, like a skew? Do I stick with between center turning for a while before doing bowls and other hollow forms? Or do I just mix things up and do a little of everything? I have lots of turning books, but they all show different project progressions.

I guess what I'm asking is: Based on your own personal experiences, what would you recommend to someone who's just starting out? What worked well for you and what would you have done differently?

I know there is no "right" answer, just looking for suggestions. Thanks.

Dave

alex carey
04-27-2009, 12:22 AM
Unless you have a plethora of good wood, I would find some bad wood and just practice anything you can think of. Make bowls, platters, boxes, HF, etc. Don't limit yourself to certain designs. Try new things as often as possible. The more you risk the more you learn.
I would limit your use of scrapers. Try and get good with gouges because they are infinitely more valuable when you get good with them.

Otherwise just have fun.

Jim Sebring
04-27-2009, 1:08 AM
You will need a good sharpening system ASAP, if you don't already have one.

Lots of folks have the Oneway Wolverine setup on an 8 inch grinder. I have one too, but prefer to use my Tormek (bought long before I fell into this vortex :rolleyes:), on my bowl gouges.

Dick Sowa
04-27-2009, 7:57 AM
I agree with others...the more you turn, the more you will need to sharpen your tools. That's one of the first things you will need.