PDA

View Full Version : Which tablesaw and jointer?

Guy Belleman
04-26-2009, 3:48 AM
What are my best tool options?
I would appreciate some input from the experts here.

I am looking at purchasing a tablesaw and jointer in the next two months, plus some of the accessories. I am a hobbyist, not woodworking for a living. I had to sell my last tablesaw before a move, and got rid of the old and temperamental 6" jointer I had. I have a budget of about $3K. There are plenty of previous polls on these tools. Although, there is not a lot of information about some of the new tools listed in the latest catalogs. I have looked at Grizzly, Delta, Jet, Shop Fox, Powermatic, General, Wilke, etc. I am not at all interested in SawStop or Steel City, preferring other models.

I like the Grizzly G0490X 8" Jointer, with spiral index cutterhead, parallelogram tables and built-in mobile base. Right now it is at $1195 with free shipping. I also like the Shop Fox W1741S, which is almost the same machine. All of the others seem like good machines as well, but more money.

I like the Grizzly G0690 Tablesaw, 3HP, with riving knife, 10", short rails. This is a new saw from Grizzly and little review has been done. It is currently $1250 with shipping $144, or a total of $1394. Yes, I know the G0651, is the same price with some tables included, but I need the saw to have a smaller foot print and to be mobile. I got word from Grizzly customer service that the Router extension table would fit on it (H7507 at $199.95). I also plan on the outfeed roller system (G1317 at $289.95). Although, I was happy with the melamine table with folding legs, I attached to my last Grizzly table saw. And of course, a saw blade.

So, lets see that brings the total Grizzly bill to:
jointer $1195
saw 1394
router ext 200
outfeed 290
can of slip it 10
cutter inserts 25
saw blade 110
Total $3224