PDA

View Full Version : Critique Please - First Time Hollow Form - Cherry Burl

Ben Brown27
04-25-2009, 5:22 PM
Okay, this is my first time doing a hollow form or a pedestal for that mater. I've still got lots of learning to do, but I haven't seen many HF's in real life, so I don't always know what little things to notice.

This is a piece of cherry burl, it is about 4 3/4" tall and 4" wide. The pedestal is Rosewood. Both were sanded to 400 grit and finished with spray semi-gloss lacquer. I don' have any buffing tools, so I used micromesh pads to buff the finish.

Any comments or guidence would definatly be appreciated. The photos are a work in progress as well. I've never really taken pictures of anything other than pens. If you are interested, you can see some of my pens on my website - address is on my profile page.

Toney Robertson
04-25-2009, 5:48 PM
Ben,

The HF is wonderful. Great wood and you did it justice.

The pedestal reminds me a lot of my first attempt. I liked my second one a whole lot better because it was not so straight. I think that might apply here.

Here is my first attempt. I think you will see the similarities with yours. Yours has better balance because your embellishment in the middle is better proportioned.

http://i270.photobucket.com/albums/jj101/iublue/IMG_3170.jpg

Here is what I made the second time around.

http://i270.photobucket.com/albums/jj101/iublue/186-86.jpg

What do you think?

Toney

Dewey Torres
04-25-2009, 5:58 PM
Are you the same Ben from the IAP forum?

I thought I saw this one in the "other things we make" section but the pics here on the creek are much better. Welcome to the creek Ben. There are also plenty of pen turners here too but predominantly "other" turnings. I think you will like the forum!

Bill Bolen
04-25-2009, 5:58 PM
Ben for the 1st or the 101's this is just plain beautiful. Wonderful form and finish. The pedestal really fits the piece. Photo is excellent too...Bill...

Ben Brown27
04-25-2009, 6:46 PM