PDA

View Full Version : Iron woodstove maintenance?

Brian W Evans
04-25-2009, 3:53 PM
Several years ago I bought a house with a beautiful 30-year-old Scandinavian (Danish or Swedish, I think) cast iron stove. The stove was in excellent condition - deep black like an old iron frying pan and no rust. It has no enamel - just iron as far as I can tell.

Now, however, it has rust in some areas and has turned an ash grey color in others. I'd like to clean it up but have no idea how to go about it. The chimney sweep and the guy at the stove store have no advice for me.

I use the stove all the time from September to April, so I don't want to oil it or do something else that would create an odor or toxic cloud in my house.

Any thoughts?

Thanks.

John Fricke
04-25-2009, 4:07 PM
Hi Brian
I have no experience with this but try this article.

http://www.ehow.com/how_4553197_antique-cast-iron-cook-stove.html

Looks like elbow grease required, good luck.

David G Baker
04-25-2009, 5:34 PM
Don't know about cleaning your stove but I do know that you must use your chimney sweep faithfully and do not burn green wood or pine. When I was a kid we would use a wire brush and a product called stove black but our wood stove was just a very basic stove with out any fancy addons.

Lee Mitchell
04-25-2009, 5:53 PM
John, thanks for an interesting link. That's the first time I've run across using waxed paper.

Brian, one note on the oil mentioned. I restore cast iron cookware and one of the things I learned early was to go easy on the oil. (I use canola oil or solid vegetable shortening.) If the oil film is too thick, there will be splotches left after curing. Also, for best results, the cast iron should be warm to low-medium hot before applying the oil. The heat helps open the pores so more of the oil will be absorbed.