PDA

View Full Version : Keyless Chuck Slipage

Burt Alcantara
04-24-2009, 3:44 PM
I've got an 18v Ryobi. Yeah, I know, a piece of junk. But for my purposes it's fine. But...the keyless chuck is always slipping.

Yesterday, I had to drill a starter hole thru 4" pvc to a metal duct gate. The bit kept slipping into the chuck. This is happening too often and I think it's time for a either a fix or a new drill.

First, is this fixable?
Second, what's a good replacement? I'm primarily a turner so the drill is general purpose that gets used about 1 day a week on average. Don't want to break the bank here.

Thanks,
Burt

David G Baker
04-24-2009, 4:38 PM
I have replaced chucks in the past. Don't know if the Ryobi sells a replacement chuck. I have been using Ryobi tools for several years, while they aren't top of the line they also do not command a top of the line price and do a pretty good job to boot. I had better luck with some of my Makitas several years ago but at the time they were considered junk as well.

Bruce Page
04-24-2009, 6:34 PM
Look into the chuck and see if there’s a screw head. If there is you can probably replace the chuck with a keyed Jacobs type chuck.
Keyless chucks are cheaper to manufacture than a keyed chuck, that’s why everything is keyless now days. I have never used a “Keyless” chuck that I couldn’t get the bit to slip if pushed hard.

Ken Fitzgerald
04-24-2009, 6:43 PM
A co-worker and I replaced our drills about the same time. He bought a Milwauukee Hole Saw with the keyless chuck. I bought the same one with a keyed chuck. He used it on one installation. When he got home he took it to a local Milwaukee authorized repair center and a keyed chuck put on.

I have a Makita keyless chuck...it works but I prefer a keyed chuck. JMHO.

Chris Kennedy
04-25-2009, 5:53 AM