PDA

View Full Version : finishing Question?

Tim Vice
04-24-2009, 7:39 AM
I am new to turning and would like to know what you guys apply to your work. I like natural wood look and color. I use CA on my pens(not very good yet) and like the depth that it has, any suggestions for larger works?

Thanks

Rob Cunningham
04-24-2009, 7:43 AM
On the few things I've turned, I've just applied a couple coats of dewaxed shellac then wax.

Al Wasser
04-24-2009, 10:15 AM
All sorts of finishes will work. You need to determine how the final product will be used. For example, something that most is mostly for looks you can just use shellac or sanding sealer. Something like a salad bowl that will get a lot of use a oil finish may be better. I still don't have a favorite and have a lot of cans around. They all work.

Steve Schlumpf
04-24-2009, 10:40 AM
Tim - you will find that your personal taste in finishes change over time. I started with Watco 'Natural' Danish Oil, then moved on to Minwax Antique Oil and presently have been using Minwax Wipe-On Gloss poly. I do agree with Al in that it really depends on what the turning is going to be used for. I tend to lean towards the decorative items - so glossy/flashy works for me. I wouldn't want to have poly in my salad bowl however!

Bernie Weishapl
04-24-2009, 10:57 AM
I have to agree with the others. It will depend on what you want to turn. I use Antique Oil, General Finishes or walnut oil on my utility turnings. If I want a decorative piece I do like Steve and use wipe on poly, rattle can spray lacquer, or rattle can spray poly. I don't use much sealers, shellac, friction polish because they just don't last at least for me. People coming into a home with Hollow Form vases picking them up looking at them just wears off the that type of finish IMHO. Spray or brushing lacquer will probably give you the most natural finish.

Mike Minto
04-24-2009, 12:09 PM