PDA

View Full Version : Introductions

Amanda Shughart
04-23-2009, 8:55 AM
Hello everyone,

I'm new to the whole engraving business, I can't really even call what I do much of a business as far as laser engraving goes. I'm first and foremost a silk-screener but that "Other duties as assigned" tag gets me every time!

My company just got a new Epilog 75W laser and I've spent a good bit of the last few weeks/months (on and off) figuring things out and testing stuff. I've done some pretty nifty things with the rotary attachement with some flashlights and even a couple of rifle scopes.

I'm definately still learning and researching, however, and any advice is greatly appreciated. What I find most difficult in finding is settings for material. Now I did do a little reading on here before posting and I've seen it said that you can have two of the same systems next to eachother and they may use different settings, I'm just looking for a place to start from. Most of the settings I am finding are for 25w, 35w and the occasional 60w system.

I'm also a bit different in when the engineers here at my company came to me and said, "You can use Corel or Illustrator" I chose Illustrator being that is the program I know, now finding that the industry mostly uses Corel. Easy enough to adapt but if there are any Illustrator tips or tricks I would appreciate them as well. I've already worked through a couple of Illustrator bugs.

Anyhow! Hello, sorry for the long post. Thanks for having me here and I hope to learn a lot from you guys.

~Amanda

Steve Clarkson
04-23-2009, 9:17 AM
Hi Amanda and welcome to the Creek!!!

Engineers? What kind of company do you work for?

Dan Hintz
04-23-2009, 9:34 AM
Welcome to the Creek, Amanda. If you have the time, you may want to consider joining us for our Mid-Atlantic meet in mid May (see the sticky at the top the the thread list). A number of us in the MD/VA area have more powerful machines (a 60W, myself), so there's plenty of help available...