PDA

View Full Version : Question about degrees and master programs

Mat Ashton
04-23-2009, 6:51 AM
Hi all

Long story short... I had a meeting with the dean of the business faculty of the university I attend, I'm doing a bachelors of business in accounting and one in environmental management (a legacy from other education). He blindsided me by offering me a seat in a masters of business administration. He seemed to be putting the hard sell on... I was suspect right away in that he was saying I didn't have to take the traditional method of an undergraduate degree program first but go straight to the masters...

It seems like these programs are more inclined to be pulp degrees in that they're just cranking out master degrees like IT schools crank out MCSE...

Anyone had any experience with this sort of education system and what weight does business give it.

Rob Cunningham
04-23-2009, 9:09 AM
Mat,
My son is enrolled in the BA/MA engineering program at his university. He is taking both under-grad and grad level classes. It's a lot of work now, but seems to be a good way to go.

Roger Myers
04-23-2009, 9:19 AM
Matt,

An MBA from a respected university with a well credentialed graduate program can be a valuable asset. You will find that most of the institutions that meet that criteria rarely accept candidates that have not had a number of years (typically 5-10) of relevant business experience after receiving their undergraduate degree. There are exceptions of course, and this is certainly not a universal policy, but it is believed (and I agree) that the practical business experience plays a very significant role in both the students education and in the graduate school environment (as it contributes a lot of varied real-life experiences and case studies to the educational experience).
PM me if you would like, with more info about your current university, and their pitch...