PDA

View Full Version : Advise on Dayton 8" Jointer

russ dennis
04-22-2009, 7:27 AM
I am just starting out with some woodworking projects and recently set up a shop in my basement. I have been looking on CL for a jointer for some time.

I can across this 8 inch jointer without a base or motor.
http://atlanta.craigslist.org/tls/1113299911.html

I have concerned the Rigid 6" jointer but I know bigger is better. How hard would it be to find the base, a suitable 2hp motor to get this jointer up and running? I couldn't find any parts for a Dayton jointer on line.

Seems like a good deal but without parts, it would just be a large boat anchor :)

Bob Aquino
04-22-2009, 7:39 AM
If you are handy, you wont have too many problems. You could find a steel base for it or make one out of plywood. All you would then need is a motor, 1 or 1.5 hp is fine and a belt. My guess is thats a Chiwanese jointer so you would want to compare a final price to something you could get from Griz or the like. If you go looking for a new motor, you might find them around 200 bucks and then throw in another 50-100 for a switch, wiring, plywood, etc. By then you may be up to 500 bucks which is what you could get a used 8 inch griz for, then its not such a good deal. But if you already have a motor for it, then why not?

David Christopher
04-22-2009, 9:20 AM
I am just starting out with some woodworking projects and recently set up a shop in my basement. I have been looking on CL for a jointer for some time.

I can across this 8 inch jointer without a base or motor.
http://atlanta.craigslist.org/tls/1113299911.html

I have concerned the Rigid 6" jointer but I know bigger is better. How hard would it be to find the base, a suitable 2hp motor to get this jointer up and running? I couldn't find any parts for a Dayton jointer on line.

Seems like a good deal but without parts, it would just be a large boat anchor :)