PDA

View Full Version : Favorite Sorby Tools

Sean Ackerman NY
04-21-2009, 10:27 AM
Hey guys, just wanted to take a quick poll and see what your favorite Sorby tools are and which you'd recommend to a fellow turner? ;)

Kirk Miller
04-21-2009, 11:35 AM
I like my tools like I like my beer.........FREE.....OK I couldn't resist. I don't have many Sorby tools. I have 2 Sorby hollowing tools the big ones. I think if I had it to do over again I would have purchased the smaller set. They are all right, but I hav'nt worked with any other hollowers, and I am still learning on the proper use of them.

Mike Peace
04-21-2009, 11:45 AM
The Sorby Spiraling and Texturing System is my favorite. It is pricey and I would only recommend it to someone whose basic turning skills have progressed to the point that they are ready for embellishing. Otherwise it is just another expensive toy to distract a turner from improving on their fundamental skills.

Greg Haugen
04-21-2009, 11:45 AM
Sean,
I must admit I don't have very many Sorby tools. Mostly because I like the differences in the shape of the tool, handle, and cost of Hamlet/Packard tools. Sorby's are far too often over priced compared to the competition, I think. For example their power sanding drill mandrels are usually $30 to $45 for the same thing that doesn't cost any more than $15 any where else. What I do like however are their parting tools. Their parting tools are different than most others available. Their 1/16" thin tools have a nice handle on them and they're one of the only companies that offer "fluted" parting tools. I also like some of the "specialty" tools like the texturing/spiraling tool.

Kyle Iwamoto
04-21-2009, 1:22 PM
Favorite Sorbys:

3/8" bowl gouge. It's the only bowl gouge I have.
1-3/8" skew. Excellent heavy skew. Ground with the Alan Lacer grind.