PDA

View Full Version : Delta 22-560 Planer issues

Doug Schiefer
04-18-2009, 9:00 AM
Purchased a Delta 22-560 planer described as mint condition, cost me $75.00, total cost with transportation was under $100.00

This is my first planer and I am a novice who builds benches. Both the wrench tool and blade remover were missing, and one of the cutter plate knobs, owner will ship if found, can order them from online suppliers.

I found a replacement for the knob. I greased the gears and oiled the roller bushings as recommended, other than that cosmetically it looks pretty good, not mint as there was much wear on both in/out fold up extensions.

I could not determine what level of use the blades have, looked nicked to me. I have 1" x 12" x 30" pine pieces to plane so I gave one a test.

The results are that I can not get a smooth finish, one area leaves a gouge about 1/2" wide which tapers, plus I get what I think everyone calls snip (ridges or waves) at middle and end of board. Motor runs strong and all parts are tight.

I am cutting at about 1/32 - 1/16 on each pass. Boards although short will tend to turn when feeding.

Sorry for the long story, but should I just write this off or is it worth investing another $100.00 in blades and parts?

I was going to buy a Ridgid R4330 but for the price and to get started I thought this would be a reasonable approach unitl I became more proficient.

BTW, sill have all my fingers.

Doug

Greg Cuetara
04-18-2009, 9:21 AM
Doug,
First Welcome to the creek.

Second. I think a lot of us around here have started off with the 22-560 or similar model from delta. It is a good solid planer but it does have some quarks. I would use the search feature and type in 22-560 and you will get a whole bunch of information regarding maintenance etc.