PDA

View Full Version : Spindle shaper?

Dave Cav
04-18-2009, 1:05 AM
I am wondering if I should get a spindle shaper, and am curious as to how many of you use one in your shop. I know they are a common fixture in most pro shops, but I wonder how many amateurs find them useful as well. I have a big old Porter-Cable 1/2" router table setup in the right side extension of my table saw, but I find I rarely use it; in fact, despite the fact that I have four or five routers, I hardly ever use any of them. I have zero experience with a shaper, but I do know they are generally more capable (and more dangerous) than a router table, and if I got one I suspect I would find a number of uses for it.

If the recommendation is to go with a shaper, what would be the suggested size/HP? Used or new?

thanks
Dave

Joe Jensen
04-18-2009, 1:20 AM
I have used a shaper since I started WW over 30 years ago. Heck, back then 3HP routers didn't exist :)

I think it depends on what you want to build. I like to build things with rail and style doors so I use a shaper a lot for that. It can be done with a router, but I find a shaper does a much more consistent job for me. I used a shaper for 25 years without a feeder, and after getting a feeder 5 years ago and it's soo much nicer to run, and the quality of the cut is amazing. Think zero sanding of profiles, that's how good it is.

I use the shaper for the cabinet set cutters, panel raising, door edge profiles, and then I have a bunch of cutters that I rarely use like glue edge cutters and lock miters.

If I shopped hard on CL, I think I'd end up spending $1500 or so on a good shaper with feeder. Cutters are expensive too. But as they say, you have to pay to play.

Steve Rozmiarek
04-18-2009, 2:19 AM
I'll agree with Joe. Shapers are quite a machine. Especially with a feeder, which ought to be required. There have been a number of good shaper use threads here in the last few months, good info in them.