PDA

View Full Version : Drilling square holes

Brett Nelson
04-16-2009, 7:28 PM
Alright guys, here I go on another aspect of my finish carpentry. Took me an entire month to finish all the trim work in the house. 6-piece built-up crown, coffered ceilings, wall frames, shadow boxes, etc.... Wheeewwww... I'm tired!!

Now I'm moving on to finishing the cabinets and the railings. It is the railings that I'm hung up on. American Cherry, over-the-post rail with 5/8" iron knuckle style ballusters, and 2 1/8" steel rope newels. I didn't have the option of getting the iron ballusters with the round dowel on the top, so now I have the problem of trying to fit a "square peg in a round hole". LITERALLY

Was looking into getting a 5/8" mortising chisel bit and just drilling square holes out for the ballusters on my drill press, but I've never used those bits before. Are they stand alone bits, or do I need to get a mortising jig for the drill press? I'm not looking to cut a long rectangular mortise, but rather just a 5/8"X5/8" square hole.

Also, do you think I should get the 3/4" bit instead, so the holes don't end up too tight?

Lee Schierer
04-16-2009, 7:52 PM
The chisels have to be mounted in the holder and the drill turns the bit inside. They aren't that hard to use if your drill press has the morticing attachment. If you already have round holes you might be able to drive in the square chisel with a mallet to remove the corner material.

Another way would be to get a corner chisel and square up the round holes.http://images.rockler.com/rockler/images/92058-01-200.jpg
or the neander way with a hand chisel. http://images.rockler.com/rockler/images/47951-01-200.jpg

Mike Cutler
04-16-2009, 7:58 PM
Brett

5/8" is actually a fairly good sized mortise bit. It's going to take some power to run that if the wood is hard. I don't think I would try to use a drill press mortising adapter. I would go with a dedicated Mortise press personally.