PDA

View Full Version : Dust Collector Decision -- Expert Advice Needed

M Smith
04-16-2009, 7:30 AM
I have been told by the boss that I need a dust collector. Darn. I'm a very low-level hobbyist working out of a garage. Not a lot of dust being created, but that which is created does manage to cover everything in the garage. A point of constant consternation.

Anyways, since I will only have one machine on at a time, and my main dust creator is a table saw and sometimes a planer with various other small tools as well, I *doubt* I'll need a high-end system. In fact, I can probably surmise that something that runs of 110V would be sufficient.

Looking on Craigslist, there are two systems local being offered for sale. I would appreciate any insight on these and the price they're being offered. Basically, I would like to know if I there are any good reasons to pass them up for something else.

1) Jet DC-650 (650 CFM). Includes the dust collector itself, a pre-collector (trash can with a lid for inflow and outflow hoses), 25' of hoses, gates and some "Y's". Asking price is $250.

2) SECO UFO-90 1HP (650 CM). 2 shake felt polyester micron bags, 2 state dust separator top & fiber barrel, X10 remote control. Asking about $150.

Can I do better than either of these, or would one (or both) of these be a good value and I should jump on one? Need to make a decision soon.

Would appreciate any thoughts and opinions!

Thanks,
Mark

Tom Adger
04-16-2009, 8:05 AM
There is another thread which is just above your post today in the Workshops section named "opinions about clear vue cyclones". The thread started in feb. I suggest you read it, and go to the clear vue website and look it over.

Whatever brand you buy, I suggest the vac include a cyclone. It traps almost all of the dust before it gets to the filter.

Greg Crawford
04-16-2009, 8:10 AM