PDA

View Full Version : Thin Material For Guitar Picks

Robert Wilson
04-15-2009, 1:42 PM
Hi All,
Looking for a supplier of thin plastics to make guitar picks from. I would think you would be able to do these in Delrin, Acetal or celluloid sheeting. I have not been able to find anything under 1/8" thickness. In exploring sites that sell picks it looks like the sizes range from .38 mm to 1.22 mm which if I calculated correctly would be in the 1/32 of an inch range. I would greatly appreciate insight on where to get thinner materials particularly patterned or colored.

Thanks,
Bob Wilson

Dennis Brooker
04-15-2009, 3:47 PM
Bob - Not trying to put a damper on things but I used to use a trade secret process I developed to produce guitar picks because I could not find what you are looking for - I hope someone else will be able to help you but to the best of my knowledge and experience I doubt it :( - Best of luck - FYI, I've been playing guitar for over 35 years - Dennis Brooker

Mike Gager
04-15-2009, 3:57 PM
try sourcing the plastic they use to make credit cards. might be some options there

Rodne Gold
04-15-2009, 4:05 PM
PETG will work - you can get it in lots of thicknesses and its dirt cheap. Doesnt engrave well.

Dan Hintz
04-15-2009, 4:11 PM
Shred some colored pellets of your favorite plastic, mix some colors together and heat them on a skillet... makes some cool patterns and you can cook them to the thickness you want by pouring a pre-determined amount of shavings into a pan of known dimensions. Viola! Your own cast sheets :)

Joe Pelonio
04-15-2009, 4:12 PM
The Rowmark ADA Alternative material comes in 1/32".

kevin leasure
04-15-2009, 6:53 PM