PDA

View Full Version : Where do they go?

Dan Hintz
04-14-2009, 10:50 AM
Just a curiosity of mine, more of a musing to myself rather than a real question to others... where do the new laser owners go?

I've been (re)reading every post since this forum's inception (I'm up to December '08 now), and one thing that sticks out to me is the number of "new laser owner" posts owned by people with 10-15 (usually less) posts. I saw multiple 1-2 post people! I'm not talking industry-experienced people here, I'm talking about complete newbies to the laser (and machining) world who proclaim their new machine has been ordered (or it has just arrived), and how excited they are to learn how to use it. If they post more than 1-2 messages, they're usually gone within a few weeks.

If you're new to the world of lasers (or business in general), why oh why would you give up on such a great resource as the Creek?! :confused: You'll get better info here in one day of reading than a month of training by a rep, and this source comes at such a paltry price point. Either they're doing so well with their new-found toy they can't afford to let us know how they're doing, they continue to lurk, or the business failed. <shrug> I just don't get it...

Phyllis Meyer
04-14-2009, 11:03 AM
This has been the best resource I have found! $6 donation (we give more) gets you a wealth of knowledge, great new friends, images and help from the best laser engravers out there. I hear there are other forums, but I only go to this one. First thing in the morning I check email, and go right to the creek. I'm heading into my 3rd year...swimming at the creek is the reason my laser is running today!

Sincerely,
Phyllis:)

Relletta Palamaris
04-14-2009, 11:04 AM