PDA

View Full Version : Securing Template to Work Piece

Chris Tsutsui
04-13-2009, 5:02 PM
Is there a certain brand or type of tape you use for temporarily attaching an MDF template to your work piece for routing a pattern in the piece?

I've never used tape before, just screws.

Drew Eckhardt
04-13-2009, 5:16 PM
Is there a certain brand or type of tape you use for temporarily attaching an MDF template to your work piece for routing a pattern in the piece?

I've never used tape before, just screws.

Generic double sided carpet tape from a big box store works great.

Chris Tsutsui
04-13-2009, 5:18 PM
Last time I was there I saw two types of double sided tape.

Of the same brand, one said permanent, the other said temporary.

Should I get the temporary type or will that not be sticky enough?

Scott Mann
04-13-2009, 5:56 PM
Get the temporary kind, it is plenty strong.

pat warner
04-13-2009, 6:25 PM
Have some experience here.
Most importantly, expect adversity with tape and other adhesives; they're made to be temporary.
Make your templet with stops, fences, crowders and toggles.
The work can move 12 different ways! Adhesives address only a few modes of motion.
The work can split, slide, spin, tilt and so on, expect surprises with tape.
Expect to hold the work on well made templets but also expect to take some time to make them.
Has priors. (http://www.patwarner.com)

Tom Henderson2
04-14-2009, 12:37 AM
Generic double sided carpet tape from a big box store works great.

Dumb question....

The stuff I've used (3M brand; don't know the specific part number) works pretty well. It is thin, and small bits are all that is needed to hold stuff together.

BUT -- it tends to leave sticky residue when I take it off.

Do you encounter that? If so, how do you handle it? I've been using solvent (acetone, etc) to remove it, but sometimes it gets down into the pores of open-grain wood like oak.

Just wondering how others handle this issue...

-TH

Bill Huber
04-14-2009, 12:55 AM