PDA

View Full Version : Need an electrician

Andy Pedler
04-12-2009, 10:22 PM
Hi all, I'm hoping there's an electrician out there who can review my electrical plan for our kitchen re-model. I've been trying to research this to figure out what I'm supposed to do as far as circuits and loading goes. I'm going to the city to get this permitted this week and I'd like the gang here at SMC to sanity check it for me before they shoot it down.

Below is the plan I've come up with. But it uses 7 circuits, which seems like a lot. Here's the breakdown by circuit.

1. 20A circuit for fridge
2. 220V circuit for oven
3. 15A circuit for disposal
4. 15A circuit for dishwasher and undercab mounted lights
5. 20A circuit for microwave and undercab mounted lights
6. 20A circuit for outlets on one side of the kitchen
7. 20A circuit for outlets on the other side of the kitchen

Question #1: Can any of those circuits be combined and still meet building codes? I think not, but I'm not an electrician.

Question #2: Can any of the circuits be shared with the overhead CFL recessed lights (6 lights at ~26W each, so 156W total, 1.3A on the circuit)?

Thanks in advance!

Andy - Newark, CA

Jim Becker
04-13-2009, 9:10 AM
Not an electrician and don't play one on TV. But I did design my circuits when I gut-renovated our kitchen back in 2003.

I wouldn't combine the under cabinet lighting with the appliances (microwave and dishwasher)...depending on loads, you "might" be able to run those lights on the same circuits with your overhead lighting, however. The load has to be calculated. Your convenience circuits above the counters may also be set up such that subsequent outlets are on the opposite circuit to avoid potential issues if more than one person is using portable appliances on the counter simultaneously.

The bottom line, however, is that kitchens can be pretty intensive with regard to circuit use due to the nature of all the stuff that goes in there and code.

Brian Effinger