PDA

View Full Version : Molding Knives on Surface Planer

Ray Frederick
04-11-2009, 8:59 AM
Hello,

I'm a carpenter and cabinetmaker and I'm in need of a planer that can take molding knives. I know all of the modern lunchbox planers are incapable of this and I can't afford a Woodmaster or Williams and Hussey right now. There are a bunch of older Sears planers available on eBay and Craig's list, such as http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=150338058926#description , that look great if you think I'd be able to grind a knife on a blank piece of steel to the same dimension as the straight knives and use that for profiling.

I know how to grind knives and balance as I worked at a custom cabinet shop, I'm just not sure if the cutter exposure and the like on one of these vintage planers would allow for that or if I have to suck it up and save for a Woodmaster.

Thanks,
Ray

Brian Peters
04-11-2009, 10:19 AM
Although its been done in books and finewoodworking I strongly advise against grinding your own knives with a bench grinder. If you have a template knife grinding machine that's one thing but this is not a safe diy project. Balance is key and playing with sharp knives is not for everyone.

Look into buying a used w&h if you can't buy a new one. If you can't afford that then you shouldn't be making your own molding for your jobs and should be outsourcing it to someone with the capability to s4s and run the molding for you. Or you should look into getting a shaper with a power feed and running a lock edge cutter head, but the w&h is far more efficient.

Ray Frederick
04-11-2009, 2:35 PM
Brian,

The snide response was not appreciated. I asked a simple question regarding the ability of certain planers to run a profiled knife, I have seen the profiled knives for sale but wanted some first hand experience of a planer capable of running them.