PDA

View Full Version : Low cost planer - should I?

Dan Karachio
04-09-2009, 9:43 PM
Hello,

I have been sitting on this too long. I need a planer and am sick of borrowing my neighbors. I hate wasting money on cheap tools, but I want to be a little thrifty right now. I have read good things about the Rigid 13 lunch box planer. Seems you can get it for around $300 and that's pretty darn reasonable. I am just a home user/hobbiest. I do not want to spend more right now.

Whattya think?

Guy Belleman
04-09-2009, 10:13 PM
... and have been happy with it, until I can afford a bigger, more professional one. I am a teacher, living overseas during the school year and in Virginia during the summers, so I have two shops and have two of most items, including planers.

http://www.grizzly.com/products/12-1-2-Planer/G0505

I have found that I get better results, less snipe, by having table that goes all the way through the planer, hooking on both ends.

Bill Huber
04-09-2009, 10:37 PM
I have the Ridgid 4330 and it does a great job for me.

I had a 1300 which has a 2 blade head where the 4330 has 3. I really did not see much difference in the cut. The dust collection on the 1300 was better then on the 4330.

The features are just about the same.

1300 you have to lock the head, 4330 you do not.

I really don't think you can make a really deep cut but I have never tried.

So bottom line is if you can find a 1300 used and in good shape get it, if not the 4330 for around $370 is a good planer.

I have a friend that found a really nice 1300 for $200 and it still had the second set of blades that came with it.

Brent Leonard
04-09-2009, 11:33 PM
My Ridgid planer has served me well. I have previos 2 blade model.