View Full Version : buying a band saw

Ramon Urbina
04-09-2009, 8:38 PM
hello to all. well i have money to spent in my new band saw, but here is the deal, my budget is up to $600.00 and i need to decide which band saw to buy, i dont like the 14" delta (the one Lowes is selling neither the Ridgid that sell home depot), so i dont know which band saw to buy, should i wait and save a little bit more money or do you think there some good deals out there. i like the 14" rikon (the one with 13" resaw capacity) and the grizzly g0457 ($895.00) but they are way to high for my budget. what should i do. i am a hobby woodworker i dont need something industrial but i want something reliable and something that is going to last my lifetime. please help me. thanks...

Myk Rian
04-09-2009, 8:40 PM
Look on craigslist for a saw. There are some good deals to be had. I found a Delta 14" made in USA for $400, added the riser for $130 and a couple good blades for $55.

Bruce Wrenn
04-09-2009, 8:57 PM
Here, on Craigslist, 14" Delta's (made in the USA), open stands go for $150 - $400 depending upon age, and extra blades. A couple weeks ago, I paid $60 (sixty dollars) for a 14" Delta that was made when Delta was in Pittsburgh. Back when this saw was made, I don't think they made riser blocks. But I can get one from Ittura Design.

Stephen Edwards
04-09-2009, 9:22 PM
I, too, vote for checking on Craigslist. I just got a great deal on a Grizzly drill press from there. I also bought my performax drum sander from CL. It might also be worthwhile to check not just your city but nearby areas as well.

If you don't have any luck on CL finding a good bandsaw, Grizzly has two nice ones close to your budget.

Even with a riser block added you can have this one within your budget:

http://grizzly.com/products/The-Ultimate-14-Bandsaw/G0555

I have this band saw and am very pleased with it:

http://grizzly.com/products/14-Extreme-Series-Bandsaw/G0555X