PDA

View Full Version : Plywood Type Recommendation

Tom McDonald
04-07-2009, 5:54 PM
Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie woodworker and a this is my first post. I will be purchasing some plywood soon to make window boxes.

My question -- may I use birch plywood since I plan on finishing with primer and two coats of paint or should I use exterior grade plywood? If I need exterior plywood what types should I purchase? Thanks.

Tom

P.S. To all members. I have learned much by reading all your posts. Thanks for yout efforts!

Kelly C. Hanna
04-07-2009, 6:12 PM
Hi Tom and welcome to the Creek!

If they are going to be sheltered by the roof or an overhang, you can get away with Birch. That said you will need to paint it well.

Otherwise, go with the PT plywood.

Tom McDonald
04-07-2009, 6:22 PM
Kelly,

Thans for the info. What is PT plywood?

Greg Hines, MD
04-07-2009, 6:33 PM
For a planter box that is going to be in contact with dirt, you need to use pressure treated (PT) plywood. Even if you paint it well, ordinary plywood is going to rot in a short time.

Doc

Brad Sperr
04-07-2009, 7:14 PM
Depending upon the size of your planters, you could also consider pvc trim or miratec or something similar.

Von Bickley
04-07-2009, 7:49 PM
For a planter box that is going to be in contact with dirt, you need to use pressure treated (PT) plywood. Even if you paint it well, ordinary plywood is going to rot in a short time.

Doc

I agree with Greg. The birch won't last......

Kelly C. Hanna
04-07-2009, 8:22 PM
Pressure treated plywood for outdoor use. It kinda goes without saying that any plywood in contact with dirt will rot in a relatively short time. PT plywood isn't rated for direct contact with dirt like posts and landscape timbers and will only last a bit longer than Birch ply.