PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Router Table Question

Joey Gunter
04-04-2009, 7:31 PM
Hi guys,
Forgive a newbie question from a guy who's been building cabinets and furniture for 25 years but.........
I'm just now trying to tool up a small shop of my own and I've never built a router table before. Got the table design done but, much to my chagrin, I'm not dead sure how to PROPERLY mount my Porter Cable 690's to the underside of the table :confused:. I would much prefer to mount from underneath but there doesn't seem a way provided on the 1001 base. Is there a different base for this?
I could, of course, pre-drill through the top and use a loger version of the screws that attach the stock base but that leaves me with holes in the top of my table I'd rather not have to deal with.
Any ideas?

joey

glenn bradley
04-04-2009, 8:45 PM
Most will mount the router to a plate and drop it into a prepared and shouldered opening. This will use up less of your collet's maximum travel than surface mounting to the underside of a 3/4" or 1-1/2" table top will. I have heard of folks routing the underside of the top to fit the router body to compensate for this problem.

I wouldn't worry about the mounting holes showing as much as I would worry about the fixed bit opening that you will have without some form of insert. Do you not use bits over a certain size? If you ever run a 3" bit the opening will be too large to be safe when using a 1" bit.