PDA

View Full Version : HELP please - Epilog Mini raster disaster

John Noell
03-31-2009, 11:58 PM
All of a sudden (with a customer standing there), my Mini decided to go wild when rastering. It vectors okay but in rastering it keeps firing and I am getting all kind of strange lines. Attached is a photo showing the problem. I thought maybe encoder strip but I have cleaned it twice, carefully, and blown out the reader (enough???) with compressed air. I also tried reversing the cable but it made no difference. Until Tech Support opens up tomorrow does anyone have suggestions?

EDIT - multiple computers, multiple cables, Ethernet and USB, all show same problem no matter where on table I engrave. I am guessing motherboard. :(

matt heinzel
04-01-2009, 8:06 AM
I'm no expert, but that happend on our M360 ULS and it turned out the tube was dead.

Phyllis Meyer
04-01-2009, 9:31 AM
The customer standing there! Just kidding, but it usually happens that way when you are trying to look for images, or you want to demonstrate...the machine decides to play games.

I would definately say the encoder strip, and I know you said you cleaned it, the slightest speck on there can cause a problem...especially if you raster a lot of wood!

Call Epilog right away in the morning. Good luck!
Phyllis:)

Joe Pelonio
04-01-2009, 9:49 AM
If the strip is clean and cable OK it could be that little board that the cable connects to. Afraid this one will have to wait for Epilog, who are now open.

One lesson, don't let the customers watch. Not only can this sort of thing happen, but they may decide that your process is "too easy" and not worth what you charge. Better to keep it a mystery.

Mike Null
04-01-2009, 9:56 AM
John

I'll bet this is a Corel issue.;)

Just kidding, Tech support is the answer.

Peck Sidara
04-01-2009, 10:18 AM
John,

I don't beleive it's encoder/encoder strip/flex cable related. The words TEST appear to be fine, the laser appears to be firing when it shouldn't.