PDA

View Full Version : Euro hinges--dlawless hardware

Jeremy Bracey
07-24-2004, 9:13 PM
First, I have never used Euro style hinges before. I am preparing to build vanities and cabinets for our soon to be built new house. I would like to use "hidden" hinges and have been looking through the rockler catalog at BLUM hinges. WOW do they get expensive. I cant remember who gave me the link but I was directed towards Dlawless hardware online. Have any of you ever used thier hinges. Thier about a buck a pair! (for 1/2 overlay face frame hinges).

Also, any advice on installing this type of hinge?

I have been visiting this site frequently for the last three months but this is only my second post. Thanks for the help!

Jeremy
Fort Wayne, IN

John Miliunas
07-24-2004, 10:11 PM
Hey Jeremy...Vanities and cabinets for a new house? Quite the undertaking! Best of luck with that! I haven't used the vendor you mention, nor have I had the "privelege" of using Blum hinges, though I hear they're the best. As it happens, though, I did just do some cabs/vanities for our bathroom and tested the waters on Euro-style hinges. Didn't take long for me to fall in love with these critters! :o Nice results and relatively easy to install, even for old "Ten-Thumbs" over here! :rolleyes:

It sounds like you'll be doing LOTS of them. In that case, I would probably check out Rockler ( http://www.rockler.com/findit.cfm?page=5878 ) and get setup with their "Jig It" gear. I used their drill guide, mounting plate guide and 35mm drill bit with great results. :) BTW, the hinges I bought, came in a 10-pack at one of the Big Box stores and were pretty reasonable. Checking the prices at the vendor you mention, may make it worth your while to just order a set or two and play with them to see how you like them and what quality they really are. (If they're any good, please, let the rest of us know! :D ) Good luck with your project! :cool:

Jamie Buxton
07-24-2004, 11:14 PM