PDA

View Full Version : Advice needed on trimming benchtop edges

Jeff Dege
03-30-2009, 9:47 AM
I'm just getting started in woodworking, and I'm building a workbench. I'm constructing the top out of two layers of 3/4" MDF and a 1-1/2" edge-glued oak countertop from Ikea. The top was a couple of inches wider than I needed, so I'm using some strips sawed from it to edge the MDF. The two layers of MDF are glued, and the oak edging strips are glued to the MDF. I plan on screwing the countertop to the MDF without glue.

Both the completed MDF panels and the countertop are a bit oversize. I left 1/8" to 1/4" on each side. I need to take off this last bit to match the top to the base, and to match the two parts of the top to each other. The question is, how?

I can see four possibilities:

1. Screw the two layers together and run them through a jointer.

2. Screw the two layers together and go at them with a belt sander.

3. Screw the two layers together and and go at them with a hand plane.

4. Use 1-1/2" straight bit in a router and a straight edge to trim the MDF layer, then screw the layers together and use a 1-1/2" flush-trim bit to trim the countertop to match.

Problems:

1. I don't have a jointer, and even if I did, I wouldn't have a jointer that came close to having a bed that could handle this.

2. I do have a belt sander, and a random orbit palm sander, and I'm pretty sure I could make this work, if I don't rush things and use too aggressive a grit.

3. The only plane I have right now is a block plane, and I'd need a jack plane, at least. I could probably finish it off with the sanding blocks and/or the random orbit sander.

4. The only 1-1/2" router bits I've seen used a 1/2" chuck, and the only router I have has a 1/4" chuck.

Questions:

Will option #3 or #4 do a better job than option #2?