PDA

View Full Version : Resawing with a TS

Charlie North
03-29-2009, 1:58 PM
I am new to wood working and have spent the last few weeks reading about table saw use.

I was disappointed when the "Mastering Your Table Saw" DVD recommended against resawing with a TS.

"Table Saw Fundamentals The Complete Guide" says it's fine to resaw.

(This book also recommends placing a featherboard with it's far feathers ending at the center of the blade.) I'm pretty sure most posters here have said to keep the featherboard short of the blade?

Anyway, my main question is do you think it's safe to resaw with a TS?

David DeCristoforo
03-29-2009, 2:10 PM
It's not so much that it isn't safe. It's just not a very efficient way to resaw. It can be dangerous if, for example you try to split stock with the entire cutting depth of a thin kerf blade buried in the wood and it overheats and the blade starts to warp in the cut... yes that could get pretty hairy. But I have split lots of boards on the table saw so it's not like it can't be done. The bandsaw is just a much better machine for this.

Chris Kennedy
03-29-2009, 2:16 PM
I've done this on occasion, mainly because I don't have a bandsaw. I have been resawing already surfaced stock, and I use a push shoe and a featherboard (in front of the blade).

I usually don't cut all the way through -- I cut just short of half way, and then flip the board over and do so again. That leaves a thin connection down the middle that I then cut by hand. I then smooth the wood with a jack plane.

Slightly time consuming, but I don't do it very often.

Cheers,

Chris

Myk Rian
03-29-2009, 2:33 PM
To me, resawing on the TS is just plain scary. That's why I put a riser on my Delta BS.

Andrew Joiner
03-29-2009, 2:40 PM
Yes. I do it all the time. A good thin kerf blade gives a suface ready to glue or sand with 100 grit RO sander. It wastes about as much wood as a bandsaw kerf and surfacing. A bandsawn resaw usually must be surfaced to glue.