PDA

View Full Version : my first veneer project- need advice (pic)

Lynn Kasdorf
03-27-2009, 9:23 PM
I'm doing a coffee table for a client, and while I'm a very experienced woodworker, this will be my first veneer project.

The customer is really intent on Macassar Ebony. Because the table will be 4' square, obviously it will require veneer. I'll be basically copying this design (but altering dimensions):
http://onehorsetownband.com/forsale/coffeetable/boke_table_1a.jpg

The base will be either ash or maple and ebonized. The top will be a carcasse made of birch plywood, covered with Macassar Ebony veneer.

My concern is the corners. I figure I'll attach the veneer to the sides and flush trim. Then attach the top piece and flush trim that. But the edge of that veneer will be exposed and I don't think it will stand up to use.

I'm trying to talk the client into letting me inlay a 1/4" strip of solid wood of some sort on the corners. This will be more work, but would make for a more robust piece.

Or, I could let the client have her way, and then if it gets bunged up later on, take it back and lay in the corner bead (for extra $$).

I can get paper backed Macassar veneer in 4'x8' sheets (for $608!) but the stuff is only .010" thick. I talked to a supplier today who suggested wood-on-wood veneer. He said it is thicker. If I went this route, do you think the veneer edges will work ok?

Also, would I flush trim with a laminate trim router bit, just like doing formica? Or do I need a special down cut bit.

Marc Casebolt
03-28-2009, 9:19 PM
Hey Lynn,

Any chance of getting a bit of that Macassar ebony to make a solid wood trim around the edge? Even a 1/4" strip mitered at the corners would solve the problem, and I agree it could be a problem.