PDA

View Full Version : Good 2x4's out of 2x10's

Dustin Powers
03-25-2009, 4:15 PM
Keep in mind I don't have a jointer. I downloaded a plan or two that uses 2x4's to build some workshop storage projects. The last time I bought 2x4's at a big box store they were horrible. I can't imagine trying to build anything out of them. So could I buy 2x10's and use a jig with either a table saw or router to straighten one edge then use the table saw with the straight edge against the fence to cut some straight 2x4's? I would waste some material but maybe I could use it somewhere again well probably not. Is there anything I could purchase that would be better? Thanks!

Chris Schumann
03-25-2009, 4:37 PM
I used a 2x6 for a mobile base once just because all the 2x4's were awful. 2x10 should/could make some OK 2x4's.

Keep in mind all the construction lumber has a lot more moisture than furniture wood, so it will move more until it dries.

Chris Tsutsui
03-25-2009, 4:38 PM
I'm no expert with 2x4s, but if you buy a 2x10, then it can have tension and when you rip 2x4s they may warp worse than the ones you see at the big box stores.

The same goes with sheet goods. As a rule of thumb, I like to trim a small amount to 2" max off factory edges to prevent warping. Basically if you use one board that has a freshly cut edge, and the other edge was not freshly cut, then it can warp. If all 4 sides of a sheet have been freshly cut by yourself, then there will be less of a chance of warping. An example of when I wouldn't follow this rule is if the factory edge of a sheet is square, un-damaged and looks new, then I may use it.

So if I had to buy 2x4s, I would go to several box stores if I had to and look at their selections. Hand select each piece and look down it so you can see if it warps bows or twists. Choose the best ones and go from there leaving all sides in-tact.

Russ Boyd
03-25-2009, 5:20 PM