PDA

View Full Version : Steady Things Up

Jeremy Williams
03-23-2009, 2:43 PM
Things are much better now with hollow form turning ... now that I have a 360 degree spindle steady! Okay, those are just the braggin' rights~!:)

If you've turned on a lathe, then you'll understand the need for a steady rest (something that keeps the workpiece from vibrating, and thus the tool chattering during the cut). I've been wanting one but good quality metal ones are $500+. So ... I had to make another plan...

My neighbor is a metalworker and his job at Phillip Morris comes to an end next year sometime. He's looking for things he can fabricate and sell ... and as we shot around ideas a couple of my wish list items ... a spindle steady and bowl steady ... came up. I showed him some pictures and told him what I liked and didn't like about each design ... he took that to the metal shop and returned with something great!

So, here's a sneak peek at the prototype. It's powder coated to a beautiful finish, uses ABEC 5 rollerblade wheels, and solid as a rock. The spine is one piece (no welds) and the arms has a flat machined in them to make it self aligning. This one is for a 20" swing lathe, but just about any swing is possible. I've run it thru some test runs with extraordinary results ...

http://www.woodwrangler.com/images/steadyrest.jpg

And yes, he'll be offering these to others for sale ... so if you are interested, drop me a private message and I'll give you the info. This one is just the prototype, and we've discussed some minor improvements for future ones ... exciting times!:cool:

Dave Bureau
03-23-2009, 3:25 PM