PDA

View Full Version : Anyone build Joe's CNC kit?

travis howe
03-22-2009, 10:57 AM
Looks like Joe's 06 and hybrid kits are a decent price however, I'm a newbie and don't know what else I would need to buy or if it is something for a newbit to do/try?

What other costs are involved in these kits?

What's a general timeframe to build and get this thing up and going, days/weeks?

Any other info or suggestions?

Thanks,

Travis

james mcgrew
03-22-2009, 9:03 PM
have you been to joes forum, he sure is one popular guy on vectrics forums as well!!!

jim

Greg Cuetara
03-22-2009, 9:52 PM
There is quite a bit of information over at cnczone . com....

There is quite a bit of research to do before you buy one of the 'kits'. The kits only include the pieces. It is quite a bit of work to put them together but from what I understand they are a high quality self-built machine. In addition to the kit you will need quite a bit of other supplies for either the 06 or the hybrid. You will also need stepper motors and a driver, a router and the correct bits, a dedicated computer to run the cnc, software like vectric unless you want to get into g-code and programming yourself, a dust collector, you should have an air cleaner as the cnc will spew quite a mess into the air...this is depending on your space. I was looking at setting things up in a basement so an air cleaner would be a must.

It all adds up quickly. I am still thinking of building the hybrid once the 'funds' become available. You can spend the $100 on the hybrid kit plans and get access to joe's private forum which I understand has quite a bit more information on builds, cost, locations for materials etc.

Good Luck and keep us updated if you decide to build.
Greg

Peter Elliott
03-23-2009, 9:15 AM
Greg,

I am in the same boat.... looking to build or buy an low end CNC. Low end meaning under $3k. Not low end quality.