PDA

View Full Version : LED Nightlights

Dee Gallo
03-21-2009, 9:57 PM
I finally got a chance to make 2 nightlights for some college kids. This is my first time using photos on a nightlight, and I'm happy with the way they came out. They are much prettier in person, but the pictures give you the general idea. I only adjusted the photos in photoshop and then imported to Corel to add letters and outline.

Bill Cunningham
03-21-2009, 10:04 PM
Those look fantastic Dee.. Great idea...

Frank Corker
03-22-2009, 8:37 AM
They look great Dee. Did you replace the light on an existing one or make your own from the start?

Albert Nix
03-22-2009, 9:07 AM
Dee did you engrave the pics on clear acrylic?

Steve Clarkson
03-22-2009, 10:00 AM
Dee,

Nice job.....they look great. (BTW.....your customers are much better looking than mine!).

I had made a nightlight a few weeks ago, just to see how it would look. I bought one at Walmart for like $3 and was able to cut a piece of acrylic almost perfectly to fit. It was small (2"x3" or so) but it lit up perfectly.

How did you make yours?

Dee Gallo
03-22-2009, 12:01 PM
Thanks everyone, these are fun to make. I buy the lights from Jim Good (a member here at the Creek - check him out!) and you get both the base and a 5" x 5" (approx) blank to use so it's very convenient. You can use batteries or buy a small plug dealie from him... his prices are very reasonable. He calls them glowboards and the acrylic is clear, youchoose the color light you want (red, blue, green, white). He also has bigger sizes but I have not tried them.

cheers, dee

Steve Clarkson
03-22-2009, 1:08 PM
I've bought quite a few of these from Jim......and everyone loves them.....especially the kids.

The prices are EXCELLENT and the service is.......well, OK it's Jim.......just kidding!

I bought one of his big ones (@ 20"x12"} and I'm dying to try it out....but I'm saving it for just the right project.

Highly, HIGHLY recommend Jim for these.

Bob Keyes
03-22-2009, 9:05 PM