PDA

View Full Version : Questions about a Jet JWL-1236

Robert Huffman
03-20-2009, 9:29 PM
I have been lurking here for some time and am interested in buying my first lathe. My current interest is bowls.

Recently I have located a Jet JWL-1236 with enough tools and accessories to make the asking price attractive - although if I proceed I will offer some less.

I have searched the Creek and have read very positive about this lathe. I have two questions:

Are there specific things I should be alert for when I see the lathe this weekend?

What year did Jet stop making this lathe in the blue/green color (this one is that color)?

Any other wisdom from Creekers will be very welcome.

Jake Helmboldt
03-20-2009, 9:50 PM
Robert, I'm new to turning but I got a very cheap 1236 so I jumped at it. I started with basic spindle work like bottle stoppers to get my feet wet and learn to turn. I've now done about 5 bowls, the largest being a 9.5" walnut one. The 1236 is a decent starter lathe, but bowls are not its strong suit. The stand is very light and flexy so you'll want to reinforce it and add some balast if you get it. Even then, it vibrates a bit with a bowl of any size. If it is a good price it might get you started, but you will likely outgrow it. I'm already figuring out what to upgrade to.

Do a search for "reeves drive" and you'll see some of the issues with the jet. It requires some maintenance, though mine is fine so far. They can get sticky and are also hard on belts. The slow speed is a bit high for bowls as well, so I did a simple modification to add a slower speed. There is a photo tutorial online (Chris someone) and it takes about 20 minutes and is worth it for roughing a bigger blank.