PDA

View Full Version : Introduction and latest piece

steve mcconnell
03-18-2009, 2:55 PM
I have been lurking here on this forum for about a year and a half, and have a learned a great deal. The willingness to share information and friendly but still useful critiques is fantastic.

I have been turning for about 2 and a half years (when I have the chance, after the kids are asleep), and have supplied the last 3 years of holiday presents. I have a Nova 1624-44 lathe along with a number of other tools in my basement shop. I feel I generally have more tools than talent, but am working to rectify that.

I started out with pens, stoppers, other small ornaments and such, and have made a number of bowls. I have taken 1 class (pen turning) which is how I convinced my lovely and talented wife to get the lathe, but other than that mostly self taught (again, with varying degrees of success) I have recently tried my hand at hollowforms (walnut vase - still in progress), as well as segmented work (PBR beer can coozie made out of a 2x4; my low-end friend almost cried with joy when I tossed it to him). My wife has an order in for a large segmented salad bowl, but I have not worked up the courage to try that one yet.

This is a piece I recently donated to the local high school rugby club for an auction. It is bubinga, about 7.75" x 2" x .25" . Finished with 3 coats of Antique Oil and buffed.

For whatever reason, I seem to like making this shape. Let me know what you think.

alex carey
03-18-2009, 3:48 PM
Nice to have you post and nice piece. Hope to see you here more often.

Steve Schlumpf
03-18-2009, 4:54 PM
Steve - Welcome to posting on the Creek! Makes a huge difference in speed of learning when you participate! If you've been checking in - then you already know there are lots of great folks here willing to help!

Good looking bowl! Very nice finish - real pretty wood! Hope it did well at the auction!

Looking forward to seeing more of your work real soon!

Burt Alcantara