PDA

View Full Version : Red Mallee Burl

Toney Robertson
03-16-2009, 8:43 PM
I ventured out of my comfort zone and purchased some Australian burls. Hard stuff but I enjoyed the outcome. 11 1/2" x 8 1/2" x 1 1/2" AO and buffed. The interior line does not follow the outside towards the bottom. I just wanted a shallow depression. Was that a mistake?

http://i270.photobucket.com/albums/jj101/iublue/172-72A.jpg

http://i270.photobucket.com/albums/jj101/iublue/172-72C.jpg

Toney

Allen Neighbors
03-16-2009, 9:22 PM
I don't think there's anything near a mistake in this one. That burl should be very stable.
And you need to stay out of your comfort zone. This is really a beautiful piece... an heirloom for someone. Tremendous job!

Kate Taylor
03-16-2009, 9:25 PM
I'm just learning to turn and seeing things like this makes me want to run out to my shop and practice!

Thanks for posting.

Tony Greenway
03-16-2009, 9:38 PM
Toney, I can't see one thing that you should've done differently. It looks awesome!!

Don Carter
03-16-2009, 9:51 PM
Toney:
What a mistake! I agree with Allen. This is no where near a mistake. This is a beautiful piece that someone is going to cherish for a long time. Great job!
But, if you think you can't use it....I know someone who can.;)

All the best.

Don

Bernie Weishapl
03-16-2009, 10:42 PM
That is a beautiful piece.

David Christopher
03-16-2009, 11:02 PM
Toney, I think you ventured in the right direction....that is beautiful

Brian Effinger
03-16-2009, 11:03 PM
Beautiful piece, Toney. :)

Jim Kountz
03-16-2009, 11:14 PM
No mistakes here, that is some of the funkiest wood Ive ever seen, stunning come to mind!! Kinda looks like it could have come from under the sea!!

Ken Fitzgerald
03-16-2009, 11:27 PM
Toney.....You did that piece of wood justice! Gorgeous wood!

Steve Schlumpf
03-17-2009, 12:06 AM