PDA

View Full Version : Advice needed. Can this work?

Robert Cox
07-19-2004, 4:43 PM
My Dad died when I was 12. Recently I have been given a bunch of photos of him at work and his first tool of the trade that appears in some of his early pics.

Dad was a jockey. In fact, he was the first licensed jockey from South Carolina according to an old clipping.

The tool I have is his first whip. Still with a bit of the string he tied to it to loop over his wrist so it would not be dropped.

I have 8x10 photos of him winning races at the Myrtle Beach SC racetrack just after WW II when he was 14 or so.

I also have some like the attached.

What I want to do is make a case to seal the whip in and laser engrave an early and a late pic above that along with some other info.

I want this to be really nice. Nice enough to continue to pass down for many generations.

But I am new at woodworking and don't know what woods would be suitable both to show the whips leather and the engraving I want done.

Any advice?

This is a late pic.

Bruce Shiverdecker
07-19-2004, 6:05 PM
Just my opinion, but I would use either Cherry or Birch.

Have you thought of having the pictures engraved on Brass or Copper? That might make an interesting effect.

Good Luck. When you decide and get it done, it would be nice to see a post of it.

Bruce

Shaddy Dedmore
07-19-2004, 8:09 PM
What are the dimensions of the crop? I was thinking of a felt lined shadow box with one pic in the upper left and the other in the lower right. With the crop placed diagonally bottom left to upper right between the pics. That could be quite big though, if the crop was large, like poster size. Cherry would be a nice way to go for the box, the extremes, light to dark would be Maple, Cherry, Walnut. Can't really go too wrong sticking with those three, but there are tons of exotics to choose from, depending on your desired effect.