PDA

View Full Version : Handcut Dovetail Question

John Czaplicki
03-14-2009, 5:30 AM
I apologize in advance if this questions has been asked before, or just plain foolish.....I am a relative novice at cutting dovetails, but I've been practicing and getting better.

The first step in most of the information I've read is to mark the ends of the board with marking gauge or knive, cutting the wood fibers 1/32" or so. I undertand the usefulness of this line in cutting your joint, but it leaves a mark on your finished product if you don't take steps to remove it. You could of course use a pencil line. You would lose the benefits of the cut line, but avoid the noticable marks on the finished product.

I've noticed several fine pieces of furniture where dove tails are used for the carcass assembly, or prominently exposed otherwise, and the scribe line is very clear and visible. I'm not sure if I like that feature or not.....I suppose it depends upon the application.

Now for my questions......Is this known to be a signature of hand cut joinery? Inidividual statement so no one thinks they used a router jig? do some people sand them off or account for them in some other way?

Thanks in advance for your input.

John Keeton
03-14-2009, 6:30 AM
John, I am new to the handcut dovetail game. But on the scribe line, most of the instructional materials suggest leaving the side of the drawer (the tails) a little proud of the pin stock (drawer front) and then planing the sides flush in the process of fitting the drawer - thereby removing the line.

But, some folks like the scribe lines - as you say, a signature mark of handcraft. Personally, they don't bother me as I have seen them on several old pieces.

Wilbur Pan
03-14-2009, 6:49 AM
What John said. He nailed it.

Frank Drew
03-14-2009, 9:44 AM
John,

On case work with dovetails showing, I'd probably get rid of the scribe lines just as part of the cleaning up process; I don't worry about them on drawer sides.