PDA

View Full Version : Question on superglue finish on turning a pen?

Tom Henry
03-11-2009, 9:22 PM
I am new to this pen turning addiction and watched a youtube video and he used superglue to finish the pen. How and is the glue a special glue??? Help:(

Ken Fitzgerald
03-11-2009, 9:29 PM
Tom....It's really not a special CA glue. There are several types of CA (Superglue) and basically the differences deal with setup times and viscosities. You will see many arguments and discussions on which is better..thick or thin...but it works well but is relatively expensive.

The finish I like to use is a superglue (CyanoAcrylate= CA) and BLO (Boiled Linseed Oil) finish. It goes on quick and easy for me. The important thing is to find a method that works for you and use it. And ...don't be afraid to try something new once in a while.

Here's a link to a video at the IAP website where Russ Fairfield demonstrates how to appy CA and BLO finish. http://www.penturners.org/forum/showthread.php?t=319

Bernie Weishapl
03-11-2009, 9:43 PM
Tom I go to Wal-Mart and buy the 4 pack of super glue in the black/yellow bubble pack. I quit using the BLO because it really doesn't do anything for me anyway. I just use CA straight.

Tom Henry
03-11-2009, 9:50 PM
Should I be using a special clothe to apply? I tried this with regular superglue and it didn't seem to work. I applied a small amount to a clean clothe and applied like I watched on the video. It didn't seem to give me an even finish.

Ken Fitzgerald
03-11-2009, 9:56 PM
Tom...I put mine on with a folded paper towel.

Dean Thomas
03-11-2009, 11:33 PM
Yup, paper towel. Or you can use those great foam packing sheets. The CA finish is as much about timing as it is anything else, IMHO.