PDA

View Full Version : How many Hobbyists have a Drum Sander?

Chris Tsutsui
03-11-2009, 4:06 PM
I see them in shops and being used all the time, but as a hobbyist I don't think I would get enough use out of one.

I was curious how many people had them and what they come in handy for.

Eric DeSilva
03-11-2009, 4:10 PM
Do you count the open frame sanders as "drum sanders"? If so, I've got one... Comes in handy for sanding down end grain cutting blocks and other glue-ups that I don't want to run through my planer...

kazek supinski
03-11-2009, 4:12 PM
i use my all the time every broad comes off the planner goes threw the drum sander at 120 grit then finish with 220 by hand

Chris Tsutsui
03-11-2009, 4:17 PM
Yeah, open frame ones count. Any sander with a drum that flattens wood similar to a Planer, but results are smooth.

The ones i would buy would be anything I see on craigslist from time to time. There's no way I would get one of those big ones that could fit a door of course...

I'm thinking that one thing to do is you could resaw a veneer or inlay piece on the band saw, then drum sand it smooth and to the right thickness. Correct?

I'm not quite sure how thin a piece of wood can go into a drum sander though...

Bill Wyko
03-11-2009, 4:18 PM
22-44 DS. I use it more than my table saw. Necessity sums it up.:D

Mike Heidrick
03-11-2009, 4:20 PM
I have one. I use it whenever I need it. Just ran a glued up top for a book case through it Sunday night.

Don Morris
03-11-2009, 4:20 PM
I classify myself as a serious hobbyist, and space in my small basement shop doesn't allow for another major piece of equipment. So no drum sander here. Would be nice though, like a 12" jointer vs my 8" jointer, etc. At some point, it's just a hobby.

Don M

CPeter James
03-11-2009, 4:21 PM