PDA

View Full Version : Making plans to build a concrete bowl lathe - opinions welcome.

Pages : [1] 2

Mark Norman
03-07-2009, 6:43 PM
My original intention was to have a friend help me fabricate a bowl lathe using some scrap steel he/we have laying around. I posted here a request for a spindle to use for the project. I got a lot of helpful responses and one of them mentioned using concrete as a base material...As it turns out I have extensive experience with precast concrete. It is an awesome building material.

That got me thinking and I sketched up my thoughts on paper.. I calculated the weight at almost 1000# with the motor and steel bed.

http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t116/triangle5/wood/Top-44_edited-1.jpg

I plan on using a three horse three phase motor with variable speed control.

I still have not finalised the design of the headstock configuration, I wont until I have the spindle, pulley and motor in hand.

I planed on fabricating steel ways out of 3" or 4" square steel stock that will adjust vertically by bolting to some uni-strut embedded vertically into the concrete. The motor will also hang from embedded uni-strut.

I think if it is planned well with the uni-strut strategically located I would have a multitude of options for mounting up various fabricated tool rests.

What to consider??? I think the building of the concrete formwork will be a fun project in itself.

Any input is welcome.

I'm glad I found this site, there seems to be some real helpful, friendly and talented people her.. I think I'll hang around for a while.

Thanks in advance,
Mark

David Christopher
03-07-2009, 7:14 PM
Mark, dont see why it wouldnt work..I would make the body out of concrete but I would make the headstock out of 8X8 steel so would have a place to mount and/or replace the spindle bearings..but you could fill the steel tubing also.....this should be interesting

Richard Madison
03-07-2009, 7:32 PM