PDA

View Full Version : Benchtop planer problems - deep cuts

Justin Crabtree
03-07-2009, 5:30 PM
I purchased a Makita 2012NB 12" planer after reading all the great reviews about it. I've been making some hard maple cutting boards and have been running them through the planer. I plane them down little by little and the planer leaves a beautiful finish, BUT there always are a few spots where it seems to dig in deep and take out 1mm deep cuts below the normal level.

Is there anything I can do to prevent this? I've tried waxing the infeed/outfeed/main tables, but that didn't help. I also put new blades on so I know it's not an issue with the blading being sharp. Is it just that the planer can't handle hard maple?

I've attached some pictures that will hopefully show what it is doing. Any help would be appreciated.

http://www.havokclothing.com/images/temporary/planer1.jpg

http://www.havokclothing.com/images/temporary/planer2.jpg

Michael Wildt
03-07-2009, 5:40 PM
I'm a beginner in this, but it sure looks like tear out to me. Basically the wood grain is going in the wrong direction so when the cutter head is cutting the top it ends up tearing it a bit. Just like when you move your hand over your face. One direction, down, you don't feel the hairs. Opposite you feel them.
You could try to send it through the planner in opposite direction. Only draw back there is that other pieces might get this problem. Guess one should pay attention to this before glue'ing the pieces together.

Maybe sanding it is the only way to bring it to finish from here, or take ultra thin cuts, but I'll let the experts correct me from here.

Michael

Tom Veatch
03-07-2009, 5:43 PM
Justin, I believe what you are seeing is called "tear-out". It happens most often where there are grain reversals in the work piece.