PDA

View Full Version : Deep East Texas looking for a tutor

Angela Weaver
03-06-2009, 1:22 PM
Hi everyone! My husband and I just got our first lathe and I'm so happy to have found this forum. I notice there are quite a few wood turners in Texas and I'm wondering if there are any around the Lake Sam Rayburn area who wouldn't mind spending a few hours teaching some basics to a total newbie.

I've researched and we've played, watched videos on the internet on making bowls and drying our green wood, but I've never even watched a wood turner before (although my husband has a little experience, but not much) and could use a little instruction.

So far we've made 3 small baseball/anti-mugger bats, grooved a really nice candle pillar (that split when my husband left it in his hot truck), but I'd really love to turn bowls.

So if anyone out there is in the San Augustine or Sabine County area, I'd love to meet you!

Paul Douglass
03-06-2009, 1:27 PM
Can't help you tutoring but sure want to welcome you and your husband to the forum. You will get help here.

Steve Schlumpf
03-06-2009, 1:30 PM
Angela - Welcome to the Creek!

Hope someone comes along real soon who lives close by! Might be easier for folks if you update your location - can be done in your User CP (located in the upper left corner of the main screen), under Edit Details. Not required, just might help folks identify a location.

Also, please remember that we like photos - lots & lots of photos!

Angela Weaver
03-06-2009, 1:36 PM
Wow! What a quick response! Thanks for the howdy-do and I look forward to coming back often!

Bernie Weishapl
03-06-2009, 1:44 PM
Welcome to SMC Angela. Lots of good people and lots of knowledge here. Look forward to seeing some turnings.

David Christopher
03-06-2009, 1:48 PM
Angela, welcome to the creek..you will be amazed the knowledge you will get from here and how friendly everyone is......like Steve said if you will update your location people can find you easier

Angela Weaver