PDA

View Full Version : Steps for gluing-up a table top

Brian Hughner
03-05-2009, 3:16 PM
Hello!

I've been a lurker on the board for a while now, and have enjoyed reading and learning from you guys for the past few months. I'm an Engineer by day and a woodworking hobbyist by night (and weekends!) and have really enjoyed learning new techniques and skills (and buying more tools!) with each new project.

I'm in the planning stage of a new project and have a question regarding how to go about gluing up multiple boards to make a table top. The table top is to have a final dimension of 37 inches long by 12 inches wide, 1 inch thick. I am planning on making the top out of three boards that I am preparing from rough lumber. In my shop I have, among other things, a 6" jointer, 13" planer, band saw and table saw.

My plan of attack for the top is as follows:

1. Re-saw my three pieces for the top from rough lumber on band saw.
2. Face joint each piece then edge joint.
3. Rip each piece on table saw to rough dimension.
4. Plane all three boards to rough thickness, leaving them a little thicker than final thickness.
5. Glue-up the three boards, aligning top edges as best as possible.
6. Run glued-up table top through 13" planer to get to final thickness.
7. Cut on table saw to final width and length.

Does this sound correct? My assumption is that it will be easier to get a flat table top planing them to thickness after the glue-up then doing it before and trying to align the top edges during glue-up.

If it matters the wood is cherry with another table made out of maple to possibly follow.

Thanks in advance for all the help!

Matt Day
03-05-2009, 4:15 PM
What is/are the sizes of the rough sawn lumber you'll be starting with? The reason I ask is that you said you'll resaw on the bandsaw. When I hear resaw I think about bookmatching or cutting veneers.