PDA

View Full Version : Jointer Planer Combo - Any horror stories?

Robin Johnston
03-04-2009, 10:58 PM
Hi everyone

Completely new to this board but have been avidly reading for several days, since I'm just starting up my own furniture business and am eager for any advice.

For the foreseeable future, I'll be working in a fairly confined basement (about 600 sq ft). I've been window shopping 8' jointers for the last week or so, and see myself spending at least around the $1000 mark, then adding a planer for maybe another $500.

However, I had an email from Taunton recently about a couple of new Jointer/Planer combos that are being launched, one a Grizzly, the other a Laguna. Interestingly, the Grizzly (model GO633) is well under $2k. Very interestingly, it's a 12".

I've no experience at all with combos, and I'm wondering to myself...

- If these are so cheap why doesn't everyone get them?
- Is it just the fact that they're new on the market, or that until now they have been closer to $5k?
- As with many combinations, has something been sacrificed in quality, in order to achieve affordability and versatility?
- Or are there other reasons sales have not gone through the roof in the US? Apparently, they are very popular in Europe.

If anyone has any words of warning about combos I'd love to hear them before I make a horribly expensive mistake with the Grizzly. Of course, any positive experiences would be welcome too!

Thanks.

Jamie Buxton
03-04-2009, 11:52 PM
Welcome to SMC. Combos are often discussed here. Use SMC's Search function to find many threads about them.

Me, I've had one (a Hammer A3-31) for eight years now, and it has served me well.

Todd Solomon
03-05-2009, 12:01 AM
Hi everyone
If anyone has any words of warning about combos I'd love to hear them before I make a horribly expensive mistake with the Grizzly. Of course, any positive experiences would be welcome too!

Thanks.