PDA

View Full Version : Leather Baseball Gloves

Daniel Muller
03-04-2009, 1:36 PM
I have been thinking about etching names on baseball mits for awhile now and have recently had a few people approach me on this. Now that baseball season is coming up has anyone done this before and if so any issues?

Mike Null
03-04-2009, 1:53 PM
Leather engraves very well. Focus may be a problem but you should do well with it. Ease into your settings froma power standpoint.

The black will not show up nearly as good as the tan.

Daniel Muller
03-04-2009, 2:03 PM
Mike thanks I have done some leather before but I guess from a business standpoint do you think this is something to pursue as I have a bunch of towns around that have their own little leagues.

Mike Null
03-04-2009, 2:07 PM
Daniel

There are certainly a lot of prospects but I have no experience with that kind of thing.

Do you have the ability to take your laser to the site?

Rags Alan Ragland
03-04-2009, 2:09 PM
Daniel
Your timing could not be better. I am in the midst of the same thing. I have an order for 12 gloves to be engreved but cannot decide where to put the logo and names.
I just did 60 bats and that was no problem but am perplexed about the gloves. Where do you propose to engrave yours?
Dr. Rags

Daniel Muller
03-04-2009, 2:33 PM
I always wrote my name on my glove just below the hole where your pointer fingers sticks out. look at this pic. just to the left of the Rawlings logo but the name runs along that seem where the yellow mark is. I always liked it there.

Daniel Muller
03-04-2009, 2:35 PM
Rags,
I meant to ask where they wooden bats or aluminum?
Dan

Albert Nix
03-04-2009, 5:07 PM
I tried it on a grey glove but there was not enough contrast. Tan or red works good. Baseballs engrave nice also (game ball in a trophy shaped like a glove) but test the ball first some work better than others. I have had better luck with artifital leather balls.

Rags Alan Ragland
03-04-2009, 6:09 PM
Thanks Daniel