PDA

View Full Version : 220v from 2 x 110v plugs

Todd Pretty
03-04-2009, 1:52 AM
Ok, so I'm going to preface this question with a statement... I am a carpenter, not an electrician, so please dont laugh if I'm completely off base.

I am about to rent a shop space, and buy my first Bandsaw, Jointer and Planer. Currently I am limited to 110v outlets, and the breaker panel is in the space next to mine, so I dont have access to it, and I would not be allowed to run the new cables either. I would like to buy some higher quality equipment, that requires 220v. Is there someway that I could build a 220v extension cable that plugs directly into two seperate 110v outlets?

Thanks for any help that you can offer.

(It's taken me a year to find this place, so waiting for a place with 220v isnt an option.)

Richard Blaine
03-04-2009, 2:25 AM
A non-three phase service uses two hot wires (legs). Both wires are 110 volts. In order to achieve 220 volts, you need to tap into both legs.

While I can't say that both legs are not present in your space, I'm willing to bet that it is a code violation to combine both legs outside of the breaker box. The first think that comes to my mind is that the breakers would act independently leaving you with the possibility of having half of your power trying to run the equipment.

Allan Froehlich
03-04-2009, 2:25 AM
Don't worry, you are not the first person to ask this

It just won't work. Trying to get 220 from two 110 outlets is like connecting two 90psi hoses and expecting 180 psi.

Duncan Horner
03-04-2009, 5:28 AM
Depending on the age of the building concerned, he might end up with 208V, if it's a 3-phase panel.

If it was a single phase supply, AND you had 2 legs to tap into, it is *theoretically* possible.