PDA

View Full Version : Miter Saws - Slider or no?

Edward Warren
03-03-2009, 5:06 PM
I am about to get a new compound miter saw and have been thinking about the Bosch 4410 which is a 10" slider. Dust collection is a moderate concern and looks like it would be a challenge on any sliding miter saw (I am using my garage as the shop).

So my question is - Is it worth getting a slider, or should I get a 12" non slider or just a standard 10"?

Space is a big concern, but I think I can accommodate any one of these, albeit a non-slider would be simpler.

I am a general woodworking hobbyist just starting out doing my own "real" projects. Due to my business dealings, I can get a great deal on the Bosch saws. I absolutely HATE buying tools a second time, so I’d like this purchase to last until the thing falls apart.

Thanks in advance for you input…

Ken Deckelman
03-03-2009, 5:08 PM
What do you plan to cut with it?

Robert Parrish
03-03-2009, 5:12 PM
I have the Bosch 4410 and like it very much. I replaced an old 10" Delta. I would stay with the 10" for blade compatibility with your table saw. Also the sliding feature allows you a to cut much wider material.

Edward Warren
03-03-2009, 5:18 PM
What do you plan to cut with it?

Wood...

Sorry, I couldn't resist.

I am not building houses, but would like to build furniture...I really don't know where this will take me, or where my interests will lead.

Robert - do you find yourself using the slide a lot, and what kind of stuff are you building mostly?

Mark Bolton
03-03-2009, 5:22 PM
Edward,
We ran a 4410 in our home building business since the were first released until about 3 years ago when the 12" came out (5412L? cant remember). The 4410 is a great saw, plenty of power, and never had a single regret with it. It was always my goto saw no matter what. The 12" model is very nice and added features that were needed on the 10". That said, I really dont like belt drive but for us the extra capacity of the 12" was a real bonus.